Motivation – Carpe Diem

FullSizeRender (17)

The other day, I watched a clip from Dead Poets Society, starring Robin Williams. It was from the scene where Robin Williams’ character talks about the notion of carpe diem:

because we are food for worms […] because believe it or not each and every one of us in this room is one day going to stop breathing, turn cold, and die

One of my parents’ friends passed away very recently, very suddenly. It just reminded me of the frailty of life and why we should embrace and adopt the ‘carpe diem’ attitude, the ‘seize the day’ attitude. This is why: because, unfortunately, our lives do not go on forever, and the world will go on without us one day. Therefore, why be your own inhibition? If you want to buy a pair of jeans, but you are worried about them suiting you or what other people will think, buy them. So long as you are comfortable in your own self, your own being, that is all that should matter.

I know, this is easier said than done. I, too, care too much about being judged.  I also have a travel bucket list, one that I’m not sure if I will ever actually succeed with because I simply don’t have that carpe diem attitude sometimes. However, I know that if I was told that I have 1 year left to live, I know that I would be booking my first flight right now, going to places I’ve always wanted to go to. So why do we, or I, not approach adventures like that on a regular basis?

Life does get in the way, but there is no point in allowing it to do so to such an extreme measurement whereby it paradoxically, or ironically, takes away the whole experience of living. People say money doesn’t buy you happiness. This is true. Although, it certainly does help make life more convenient. Why do people want money? To do things they otherwise wouldn’t be able to do without money: buy expensive clothes, travel, invest in other businesses, buy a nice house, raise a family with a stable income. As good as this all these things are, if you spend every waking hour obsessed with making money, never looking up, then when will you have the time to use that money?

This is why carpe diem is so important. Those metal coins that we lust after will last longer than us, they’ll hang around long after we are gone. Chance won’t and neither do those that are near you.

5 thoughts on “Motivation – Carpe Diem

  1. Love this post! A good friend of mine is dying of cancer and if anyone’s a great example of carpe diem, it’s her! She’s put things in perspective, just like you write in your post, and I’ve started a list of things I’ve always wanted to do. Of course, I don’t know when I won’t be here any more, so maybe I won’t have enough time to finish it all. And of course, I need to earn money to make it all happen, but my intention has shifted from panicking about the future to wanting to enjoy life more.

    Also, my grandmother always said, regarding money: “Money needs to roll.” You can’t take it with you when you die and even though it’s necessary to live, money’s not the main goal in life: using it to enjoy yourself is a much better perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! I’m sorry to hear about your friend and I hope that she is living life to the full as we all should do! Yes, money does help with the financial side of goals but as you said, it shouldn’t be a main goal itself. Treat it as a tool rather than the end product of life. Thanks for dropping by and posting such an insightful comment. LP

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My friend is my biggest role model atm. The way she’s dealing with the bad news is just amazing. She’s running around doing all kinds of things to enjoy what’s left of her life and it awes me 🙂 We all should be more like her 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

